top of page

Who are we?

For more than 3 years, as part of the RiskGest project, the Fire and Rescue Services of Savoie (73)  has been working on the creation of a solution aimed at providing means of communication for the emergency services on the one hand and for the affected population on the one hand. on the other hand, in the event of partial or total loss of the infrastructure networks.

Quickly, due to project needs, the team expanded to 3 other Fire and Rescue Services  either through the RRF program or through MUSAR for Fire and Rescue Services 74.

 

Today, the response called FENICS is primarily aimed at our territories extended to France, allowing all modules of the European Union Civil Protection Mechanism (UCPM) to communicate regardless of the theater of operations. (France, Europe or even International).

What are the needs and constraints in terms of means of communication in the event of the deployment of the European Union Civil Protection Mechanism?

In a context of a permanent increase in large-scale events requiring international support, the European Union continues to develop its support mechanism and to structure its response. However, like the management of current risks, daily practices require the development of the necessary tools in the field in order to ensure management as close as possible to the actors.

Today, the evolution of decision-making and information circuits requires the sharing of increasingly precise data. To respond to this, it is necessary to give field teams the tools adapted to these uses, including when the situation has led to a partial or total loss of telecommunications infrastructure networks.

How to meet these needs?

For nearly three decades, France has been a major player in the European Union Civil Protection Mechanism (UCPM). First contributor in terms of number of modules, it continues to increase its contribution to civil protection and humanitarian aid.

On the strength of this experience, it appeared essential to create a support and support module to ensure communications in the field. It is not necessary to recall the importance of telecommunications in the management and coordination of any type of operation, whatever its nature and size.

However, the context and the geography require the ability to adapt in order to give the command the right tools for the success of the mission.

DOMINO.jpeg

An answer as needed
born from the field

In 2018 as part of a European Alcotra-RiskGest project, Fire and Rescue Services 73 began studies to provide solutions to ensure the continuity of communications in the event of a disaster in the Alpine region between Savoie and its Italian neighbors in the provinces of Aosta and Turin.

Indeed, the department of Savoie presents a restrictive geography, by these numerous tunnels allowing to reach the valleys, but it has an important coverage of mobile telephony related to its strong tourist frequentation.


Therefore, to carry out its missions both in the context of current risk and in exceptional or even catastrophic risk, it was important to prepare for a response both on its territory and on that of its neighbors, including cross-border.

Back to the FENICS timeline

January 2019 - August 2021- From RiskGest to FENICS 
As part of a European project initiated in 2019, 10 experiments were carried out, including the certification of the MUSAR form Fire and Rescue Services
  73-74 as well as the detachment of France in Greece during the FDF reinforcements of 2021. The result of this work gave birth to FENICS on a partnership between operational and industrial.
In view of the results obtained, CG Emmanuel CLAVAUD proposed, under cover of the Savoie prefecture and the South East Zone General Staff, to the Director General of the DGSCGC, the creation of a SIC support team in the European Union Civil Protection Mechanism (UCPM).

September 2021 - DGSCGC Presentation
During the 2021 congress, a joint presentation Fire and Rescue Services 13 & 73 was made to DGSCGC.

 

October 2021 - DG ECHO Presentation
At the request of the DGSCGC, a presentation followed to DG ECHO in Brussels at the ERCC coordination centre.
 
May 16 – 19, 2022: The first implementation in MODEX 
During MODEX Domino, in Martigues, following exchanges with representatives of DG ECHO, including the European Commissioner and the Director General of Civil Security and Crisis Management, it was agreed that France was going to propose this new capacity of the UCPM. The European Commissioner has requested that a restricted form of FENICS be operational from 2022, taking into account weather conditions.

August 9, 2022 - Officialization

The Director General of Civil Security and Crisis Management proposed the integration of FENICS into the MPCU to the Director General of European Civil Protection and Humanitarian Aid Operations. It initiates the process of integration into the ECPP which will finalysed by a certification planned for 2023.

August 11/18, 2022 - The first operational deployment
The FENICS team, made up of personnel from the 4 Fire and Rescue Services (13-69-73-74) was deployed to the Gironde Forest Fire. Well integrated by CG VERMEULEN and his teams, we were able to both provide technical support for the Fire and Rescue Services
 SDIS33 and implement the communication tools for the foreign modules of the UCPM (Germany, Austria, Poland and Romania).

5 -19 February 2023: World Ski Championships
For 15 days, as part of the World Ski Championships being organised in Méribel Courchevel, FENICS was deployed to ensure the resilience of the communications resources of all the security and emergency services as part of the Operational Command Post around the Prefect of Savoie.

28 February - 3 March 2023: CBRN Modex Lyon
As part of the certification of the module, FENICS took part in a MODEX with Germany, Italy, France and Romania. The theme of this exercise was the consequences of a violent storm on several industrial sites in the French Chemical Valley. For this exercise, a FENICS team including 4 coordinators, a nurse, 12 technicians and 5 logisticians. For 96 hours, in complete autonomy, the teams was in charge of setting up all the communication networks at the base camp and in the intervention areas.

19 July - 8 August 2023: Forest fire support Canada

1st international commitment for FENICS since joining the European Union Civil Protection Reserve at the end of 2022.
For 3 weeks, FENICS, part of the 3rd French detachment, deployed daily communications bubbles covering almost 400 km2 in the intervention sectors in a communication white zone covering several thousand km2 devastated by fires covering more than 300,000 ha.
These are impressive figures, but the bubbles are connected to the Radisson Control Centre located more than 100 km north of the zone.

 

bottom of page

top of page

Qui sommes nous? 

Depuis plus de 3 ans, dans le cadre du projet RiskGest, le SDIS de la Savoie travaille à la création d’une solution visant à mettre à disposition des moyens de communications pour les services de secours d’une part et pour la population sinistrée d’autre part et ce en cas de perte partielle ou totale des réseaux d’infrastructure.

Rapidement, en raison des besoins de projet, l’équipe s’est élargie à 3 autres SDIS soit au travers du programme RRF soit au travers de MUSAR pour le 74.

 

Aujourd’hui, la réponse baptisée FENICS s’adresse en premier lieu à nos territoires élargis à l’hexagone permettant à tous les modules du Mécanisme de Protection Civile de l’Union Européenne (MPCU) de communiquer quel que soit le théâtre d’opérations (France, Europe voire International).

Quels sont les besoins et contraintes en termes de moyens de communication en cas de déploiement du Mécanisme de Protection Civile de l'Union Européenne ?

Dans un contexte d'augmentation permanente des événements de grande ampleur nécessitant un soutien international, l'Union européenne continue à développer son dispositif de soutien et à structurer sa réponse. Cependant, à l'instar de la gestion des risques actuels, les pratiques quotidiennes nécessitent de développer sur le terrain des outils nécessaires afin d’assurer une gestion au plus près des acteurs.

Aujourd'hui, l'évolution des circuits de décision et d'information nécessite le partage de données de plus en plus précises. Pour y répondre, il est nécessaire de donner aux équipes de terrain les outils adaptés à ces usages, y compris lorsque la situation a conduit à une perte partielle ou totale des réseaux d'infrastructures de télécommunications.

Comment répondre à ces besoins ?

Depuis près de trois décennies, la France est un acteur majeur du mécanisme de protection civile de l'Union européenne. Premier contributeur en termes de nombre de modules, elle ne cesse d'augmenter sa contribution à la protection civile et à l'aide humanitaire.

Fort de cette expérience, il est apparu indispensable de créer un module d'appui et de soutien pour assurer les communications sur le terrain. Il n'est pas nécessaire de rappeler l'importance des télécommunications dans la gestion et la coordination de tout type d'opération, quelles que soient sa nature et sa taille.

Cependant, le contexte et la géographie nécessitent une capacité d'adaptation afin de donner au commandement les bons outils pour la réussite de la mission.

DOMINO.jpeg

 Une réponse au besoin
née du terrain

En 2018 dans le cadre d’un projet européen Alcotra-RiskGest, le SDIS 73 a débuté des études afin d’apporter des solutions pour assurer la continuité des communications en cas de catastrophe en région Alpine entre la Savoie et ses voisins italiens des provinces d’Aoste et de Turin.

En effet, le département de la Savoie présente une géographie contraignante, par ces nombreux tunnels permettant d’accéder aux vallées, mais elle dispose d’une importante couverture de téléphonie mobile liée à sa forte fréquentation touristique.


Dès lors, pour assurer ses missions aussi bien dans le cadre du risque courant que dans le risque exceptionnel voir catastrophique, il était important de se préparer à une réponse aussi bien sur son territoire que sur celui de ces voisins y compris transfrontalier.

Retour sur la chronologie de FENICS

Janvier 2019 - Aout 2021- De RiskGest à FENICS  
Dans la cadre d’un projet Européen « RiskGest » initié en 2019, il a été réalisé 10 expérimentations dont la certification du MUSAR du 73-74 ainsi que le détachement de la France en Grèce lors des renfort FDF de 2021. Le fruit de ce travail a donné naissance à FENICS sur un partenariat entre des opérationnels et des industriels.
Au regard des résultats obtenus, le CG Emmanuel CLAVAUD a proposé, sous couvert de la préfecture de Savoie et de l’Etat-Major de Zone Sud Est, au Directeur Général de la DGSCGC, la création d’une équipe d’appui SIC dans le cadre Mécanisme de Protection Civile de l’Union Européenne (MPCU).

Septembre 2021 - Présentation à la DGSCGC
Lors du congrès 2021, une présentation conjointe SDIS 13 – SDIS73 a été faite au BOMSIS et à la MREI.

 

Octobre 2021 - Présentation à la DG ECHO 
A la demande de la DGSCGC, s’en est suivie une présentation à la DG ECHO à Bruxelles au centre de coordination ERCC.
 
16 – 19 mai 2022 : La première mise en œuvre en MODEX 
Lors du MODEX Domino, à Martigues, suite aux échanges avec les représentants de la DG ECHO dont le Commissaire Européen et le Directeur Général de la Sécurité Civile et de la Gestion de Crise, il a été acté que la France allait proposer cette nouvelle capacité du MPCU. Le Commissaire Européen a demandé que dès 2022 une forme restreinte de FENICS soit opérationnelle et ce au regard des conditions météorologiques.

9 aout 2022 - L’officialisation

Le Directeur Général de la Sécurité Civile et de la Gestion des Crises a proposé l’intégration de FENCIS dans le MPCU au Directeur Général de la Protection Civile et Operations d'Aide Humanitaire Européennes. Il initie la démarche d’intégration dans l’ECPP qui se concrétisera par une phase de certification planifiée pour 2023.

11/18 Aout 2022 - Le premier déploiement opérationnel 
L’équipe FENICS, composé de personnels issus des 4 SDIS (13-69-73-74) a été déployée sur les feux de Gironde. Bien intégrés par le CG Vermeulen et ses équipes, nous avons ainsi pu à la fois être un soutien technique pour le SDIS33 et mettre en œuvre les outils de communication pour les modules étrangers du MPCU (Allemagne, Autriche, Pologne et Roumanie).

 

5 -19 Février 2023: Championnat du monde de Ski

Pendant 15 jours, dans le cadre de l'organisation des Championnat du monde de SKI à Méribel Courchevel, FENCIS a été déployé pour assurer la résilience des moyens de communication de l'ensemble des forces de sécurité et de secours dans le cadre du Poste de Commandement Oprérationnel autour du Préfet de la Savoie. 

28 Février - 3 Mars 2023: Modex NRBC Lyon

Dans le cadre de la certification du module, FENCIS a participé à un MODEX avec l'Allemagne, l'Italie, la France et la Roumanie. Le thème de cette manoeuvre était les conséquences d'une violente tempête sur plusieurs site industriels de la vallée de la chimie.

Pour cette exercice une équipe FENICS dont 4 coordinateurs, un infirmier, 12 techniciens et 5 logisiticiens. Pendant 96 heures, en toute autonomie, FENICS a été en charge de l'ensemble de la mise en place de réseaux du communication sur le camp de base et sur les zones d'intervention. 

19 Juillet – 8 Août 2023: Renfort Feux de Forêts au Canada

1ier Engagement international pour FENICS depuis son entrée dans la Réserve de Protection Civile de l'Union Européenne fin 2022.

Pendant 3 semaines, FENICS, intégrée dans le 3ème détachement Français a déployé, tous les jours, des bulles de communications de près de 400 km2 sur les secteurs d'intervention sur une zone blanche de communication de plusieurs milliers de km2 dévastée par des feux de plus de 300 000ha.
Des chiffres impressionnants, pour autant ces bulles sont raccordées au Poste de Commandement de Radisson situé à plus de 100 km au nord de la zone.

bottom of page